Transforming School Discipline Collaborative

Welcome to the

Transforming School Discipline Collaborative

TSDC is a collaborative of organizations working to ensure that Illinois' schools are safe and supportive for all students.

An interdisciplinary team of attorneys, school psychologists, restorative justice practitioners, school-based professionals, policy advocates and community partners, TSDC is dedicated to supporting districts and schools to implement equitable and non-exclusionary discipline practices. We aim to meaningfully reduce the high numbers of school days that students lose due to exclusionary discipline policies and to eradicate inequities in the administration of discipline.


Learn about the recent efforts in Illinois to change discipline through legislation.

Discover TSDC's Toolkit for Transformation which is meant to support districts as they work to implement change.

Join a training today.


TSDC Steering Committee members (updated July 2019)

  • Donald Sibley, Loyola University of Chicago, School of Education

  • Jessica Schneider, Equip for Equality

  • Jessica Sullivan-Wilson, Educators for Excellence - Chicago

  • Joshua Kaufmann, Teach Plus Illinois

  • Kelsie Reed, Loyola University Chicago, School of Education

  • Melanie Mandisodza, Homewood District 153

  • Miranda Johnson, Loyola University Chicago, School of Law

  • Monica Llorente, Northwestern University

  • Dr. Pamela Fenning, Loyola University Chicago, School of Education

  • Sarah Schriber, Prevent School Violence Illinois

  • Sarah Bess-Dworin, Restoring Community

TSDC Emeritus Members & Contributors:

Brian Williams (East Maine School Dist. 63); Candace Moore (Chicago Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights); Cassandra Black (Loyola University Chicago, School of Law); Chuck Hartseil (McLean County Unit Dist. 5 & El-Paso Gridley School Dist. 11, Retired); Dr. Dan Koonce (Governors State University); Elizabeth Temkin (Chicago Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights); Jordee Yanez (Illinois Safe Schools Alliance); Jose Sanchez (Voices of Youth in Chicago's Education); Margie Wakelin (Equip for Equality); Owen Daniel-McCarter (Illinois Safe Schools Alliance); Robert Spicer (Restorative Strategies); Sara Balgoyan (Illinois Balanced and Restorative Justice).

Interested in serving as a TSDC steering committee member? Please contact Project Coordinator Berenice Villalobos for more information at